

BOROUGH OF RUSHMOOR

To the Mayor and Members of the Council,

YOU ARE HEREBY SUMMONED to attend the Annual Meeting of the Council of the Borough of Rushmoor to be held at the Council Offices, Farnborough on *Tuesday, 23rd May, 2023 at 7.00 pm* for the transaction of the business set out on the Agenda given below.

AGENDA

1. ELECTION OF THE MAYOR OF THE BOROUGH -

Cllr Christine Guinness will move and Cllr Mrs D.B. Bedford will second:

"That Councillor **CLIVE PATRICK GRATTAN** be elected Mayor of the Borough to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2024."

On his election, the Mayor will make his Declaration of Acceptance of Office in accordance with Section 83 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

The Mayor will address the meeting and will signify the appointment of Mrs June Smith as the Mayoress and Mr. David Betts as the Mayor's Chaplain.

2. VOTE OF THANKS –

To record the Council's appreciation of the excellent service rendered by Mr. John Marsh as Mayor during the Municipal Year 2022/23. An illuminated scroll shall be presented, together with a Past Mayor's Badge, to Mr. Marsh.

3. ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR -

Cllr P.G Taylor will move and Cllr Peace Essien Igodifo will second:

"That Councillor **MARA MAKUNURA** be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough to hold office until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2024."

On her election, Councillor Makunura will make her Declaration of Acceptance of Office in accordance with Section 83 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

4. **MINUTES –** (Pages 1 - 8)

To confirm the Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 20th April 2023 (copy Minutes herewith).

5. **RETURNING OFFICER'S REPORT –** (Pages 9 - 14)

To receive the Returning Officer's Report of the names of the persons elected as Borough Councillors at the Elections held on 4th May 2023 (copy attached – Annex 1).

6. MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS -

7. APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE HEAD OF FINANCE AS SEC 151 OFFICER – (Pages 15 - 16)

To consider the report of the Chief Executive (copy attached – Annex 2) which recommends the new Executive Head of Finance, Mr. Peter Vickers, be designated as the Council's Section 151 Officer (Chief Finance Officer) from August 2023.

8. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL –

To consider the nominations and appoint the Leader of the Council to hold office until the Annual Meeting in 2024. Cllr D.E. Clifford has been nominated by the Conservative Group.

9. APPOINTMENTS –

(1) To note the appointment of the Deputy Leaders and the following councillors as Cabinet Portfolio Holders for the Municipal Year 2023/24, as made by the Leader of the Council:

Cllr M.L. Sheehan	Deputy Lea	Deputy Leader and Operational Services		
Cllr M.J. Tennant	Deputy Lea	Deputy Leader and Major Projects and Property		
Cllr J.B. Canty	Customer Corporate	Experience,	Transformation	and

Cllr Sue CarterDemocracy, Strategy and PartnershipsCllr G.B. LyonPlanning and EconomyCllr P.G. TaylorFinance

(2) To consider and approve the Appointments to Committees for the Municipal Year 2023/24 as follows in accordance with the allocations to achieve political balance indicated:

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Voting Members

Conservative: 7 Labour: 4

Cllr Jib Belbase Cllr P.J. Cullum Cllr A.H. Gani Cllr Michael Hope Cllr S.J. Masterson Cllr Marina Munro Cllr Calum Stewart Cllr C.P. Grattan Cllr Halleh Koohestani Cllr Sophie Porter Cllr Dhan Sarki

Standing Deputies:

Conservative:	Labour:
Cllr Mrs D.B. Bedford	Cllr Christine Guinness
Cllr S. Trussler	Cllr Gareth Williams

NOTE: The Cabinet Member with responsibility for planning matters is to be an ex officio non-voting member of the Development Management Committee.

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE, AUDIT AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Voting Members

Conservative: 6	Labour: 4	Liberal Democrat: 1
Cllr A. Adeola Cllr P.J. Cullum Cllr A.H. Gani Cllr Nem Thapa Cllr S. Trussler	Cllr Christine Guinness Cllr Nadia Martin Cllr Sarah Spall Cllr Gareth Williams	Cllr C.W. Card

Standing Deputies:

Cllr Jacqui Vosper

Conservative:Labour:Cllr S.J. MastersonCllr Keith DibbleCllr PeaceEssien-IgodifoCllr C.P. Grattan

Liberal Democrat: Cllr T.W. Mitchell

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITEE

Voting Members

Conservative: 7 Labour: 4

Cllr A. AdeolaCllr Gaynor AustinCllr Jessica AutonCllr Jules CrossleyCllr D.B. BedfordCllr Keith DibbleCllr Mara MakunuraCllr Sophie PorterCllr S.J. MastersonCllr M.D. Smith

Standing Deputies:

Cllr S. Trussler

Conservative:	Labour:
Cllr P.J. Cullum	Cllr Abe Allen
Cllr Nem Thapa	Cllr Gareth Williams

POLICY AND PROJECT ADVISORY BOARD

Voting Members

Conservative: 6	Labour: 4	Liberal Democrat: 1
Cllr Jessica Auton Cllr Jib Belbase Cllr Peace Essien Igodifo Cllr Michael Hope Cllr Marina Munro	Cllr Abe Allen Cllr M.J. Roberts Cllr Becky Williams Cllr Gareth Williams	Cllr T.W. Mitchell

Standing Deputies:

Cllr Calum Stewart

Conservative:	Labour:	Liberal Democrat:
Cllr P.J. Cullum	Cllr Gaynor Austin	Cllr C.W. Card
Cllr Jacqui Vosper	Cllr Halleh Koohestani	

(3) To consider the nominations and appoint the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Committees (the Conservative Group nominations are set out below):

Development Management

Nominated Chairman	-	Cllr S.J. Masterson
Nominated Vice-Chairman	-	Cllr Marina Munro

Nominated Chairman	-	Cllr P.J. Cullum
Nominated Vice-Chairman	-	Cllr S. Trussler

(4) To consider the nominations and appoint the Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee and the Policy and Project Advisory Board (the Conservative Group nominations are set out below):

Overview and Scrutiny Committee Nominated Chairman	e Cllr M.D. Si	mith
Policy and Project Advisory Boa Nominated Chairman	rd Cllr Marina	Munro

(5) To consider and approve the appointments to the Management Boards for the Municipal Year 2023/24:

The Aldershot Recreation Ground Trust

Cllr Mrs D.B. Bedford	Cllr K. Dibble	Cllr S. Trussler

Standing Deputy: Cllr Nadia Martin

King George's Field, Farnborough Trust

Cllr Calum Stewart	Cllr Gareth Williams	Cllr P.J. Taylor

Standing Deputy: Cllr Mara Makunura

The Alfred Henry Goode Will Trust

Cllr D.E. Clifford	Cllr Nadia Martin	Cllr Sophie Porter
--------------------	-------------------	--------------------

P. SHACKLEY Chief Executive

Council Offices Farnborough Hampshire GU14 7JU

16th May 2023